LoBiondo Applauds Winner of Annual Congressional Art Competition

LoBiondo Applauds Winner of Annual Congressional Art Competition


Congratulates 25 2nd District Students who Submitted Artwork

At a public reception in Ocean City last night for the artists and their families, U.S. Congressman Frank A. LoBiondo (NJ-02) congratulated Sabrina Singh of Egg Harbor Township High School for winning the 2018 Congressional Art Competition. Ms. Singh’s “Disconnected” piece will be displayed in Washington, D.C. for one year in the tunnel connecting the main tour route of visitors to the U.S. Capitol.

“I congratulate Sabrina for her ingenuity and creativity on display in ‘Disconnected’ and I believe her piece will be outstanding addition to the U.S. Capitol,” said LoBiondo. “The annual Congressional Art Competition encourages young artists in our communities to share their talents with countless visitors to my offices and the U.S. Capitol. Over the years I have had the honor to meet truly gifted artists from South Jersey who enthusiastically participate in this annual event. I applaud them all and encourage them to continue to create.”

The 2nd and 3rd place winners were Madison Rocap of Ocean City High School (“The Beast”) and Lilly Corbisiero of Ocean City High School (“Milky Sea”), respectively. The second and third place submissions will be displayed in LoBiondo’s Washington, DC (2nd Place) and Mays Landing (3rd Place) offices.

Twenty-five (25) students from ten (10) local high schools submitted artwork for the Congressional Arts Competition. They are as follows:

Absegami High School

  • Michael Reitzel

Atlantic County Institute of Technology

  • Carol Martinez
  • Dara Jackson

Bridgeton High School

  • Bryan Leon
  • Jazmin Silverio
  • Sameerah Griswold
  • Savannah Simpkins

Buena Regional High School

  • Olivia Dormanen

Cedar Creek High School

  • Christefano Semilia
  • Lane Ruberton
  • Marina Ciocco

Cumberland Christian School

  • Sarah Sheppard

Egg Harbor Township High School

  • Erika Morris
  • Sabrina Singh
  • Sarah Bicknell
  • Sarah Miller

Millville Memorial High School

  • Leanne Zielinski
  • Maritza Trejo

Oakcrest High School

  • Aja Bing
  • Derek Leon
  • Lena Nguyen

Ocean City High School

  • Garrett Vliet
  • Isabella Wamsher
  • Kai Demarco
  • Lilly Corbisiero